Day Eleven .. Make A Prompt Personal – Tattoo….You

Do you have a tattoo? If so, what’s the story behind your ink? If you don’t have a tattoo, what might you consider getting emblazoned on you skin?

Some people judge you by having a tattoo, the stigma of others looking on and viewing an opinion of you. How can they, they dont know what your like as a person or what you may have been through to feel that you want to be marked by ink and have words written in your skin.

I, as I think you’ve guessed, have several tattoos.  I love each and every one of them. My back holds a vine from top to bottom that has my children’s names etched to the edges.  My love for them is paramount and I take pleasure in showing this every time someone sees my back.  My upper arm has the most beautiful Peony flower which stretches across my shoulder; a symbol of beauty!

My most memorable tattoo which started as being one for life, for the love of another, now aids to remind me of foolish times.  I was young and in love and our romance dwindled but in later years after meeting again we realised that we deserved another chance.  We both had words inscribed on our body from a song that has deep meaning!

What you thought you’d lost was just mislaid

These are words from a ‘Goldfrapp’ song, ‘Some People’.   A beautiful song that I have always loved.

(The relationship fell apart, but no regrets, it was fun while it lasted!!)

Once when asked how I would look when I’m old and wrinkly with all those tattoos I answered, ‘I will look as beautiful as I do now, just older, greyer and with wrinkled skin, just like you!’

I don’t regret one, for a minute!  In fact as of late I’ve contemplated  another.  I know where and what but I need to be sure of the artist that puts his mark to me.  Time is a waiting game and I have lots of time to spare as I plan to live to be very old and grey (or peroxide in my case).

